Uh oh…..

So, I started the Ready-To-Wear fast with gusto!!!  I spent the morning of New Year’s Day doing some much neglected mending.

Thursday morning, I needed to go to work for a few hours.  I don’t work in an environment where I need to dress up all the time (I would call it “business casual” with a lot of emphasis on the “casual.”)  Over New Years Eve & Day, Chicago got a foot or more of snow.  So, I reached for my favorite (only-pair-that-fits!) skinny jeans to pair with boots, a turtleneck, and a big oversized wool sweater.  And – oh shit people – I found this:

IMG_0186

See the hole?  AAARRRGGHH!!!  

Yes, I already own the Kenneth King Craftsy Jeanius course.  But I’m terrified to make my own jeans!!!!!!!  Why oh why didn’t I notice this before Jan 1?

10 comments

  1. It’s easy enough to fix, though. All you need is a bit of iron-on patch, iron on the inside, then darn it from the outside with thread that matches the jeans. It’ll practically be invisible. I do this all the time with my jeans.

    1. Thanks Diana! I had thought about some interfacing on the inside. Do you think that would work? And would you just use poly thread to darn it? I will definitely try that!!!!

  2. back to the vintage store! Is that allowed?

    1. I don’t think so, mom…. (eek) I think I’m going to have to repair these and then I’ll try to sew my own pair!

  3. I’ve fixed this type of whole in my jeans. I just did a patch on the backside with darning stitch over it on the outside. Also, constructing jeans is not hard, fitting them is. If you love the fit of this pair, don’t be scared. You can definitely make jeans!
    So glad you have joined in the RTW Fast. So many new faces this time around!

    1. Thanks Laura! So happy to be joining this time around. I’m sure I’m going to learn a TON – like apparently how to patch/ repair holes in my jeans! 🙂

  4. KarenDeVries · · Reply

    You may want to try these imstructions for darning the hole in your jeans. I guarantee they will be as good as new and no one wil know you fixed them! http://www.mademan.com/mm/how-darn-holes-jeans.html

    Good Luck!

  5. Thanks so much for this link, Karen!!!! so, so helpful. I’ll post here about how it goes.

  6. KarenDeVries · · Reply

    I will be anxious to see the finished repair.

  7. […] Friday I posted about finding a hole in my favorite pair of jeans (and really the only ones that fit.)  I had […]

Leave a Reply

