Minoru, take 2

Last spring I made my first coat – Sewaholic’s Minoru.  There were some snafus, but the instructions were great.  Together with the sewalong still on Tasia’s blog, I was able to work my way through this…

not quite finished here (just the shell completed)

not quite finished here (just the shell completed)

 

IMG_1483

better shot of the lining

I’ve worn it a TON and gotten a lot of compliments.

This fall, I’d like a heavier coat, something olive and anorak/ army-like – After scouring through my Burda magazines for an appropriate pattern, I decided to sew Minoru again.  The fit of my first version is already worked out, so all I needed to do was find the fabric.  I found some olive cotton ripstop on Etsy and made a quick trip to Vogue Fabrics for some olive flannel and lining.  The flannel will be sandwiched between the ripstop and inner lining to make this coat heavier.  I am also planning to add patch pockets and some other details….

Here’s my notes & sketch below!

IMG_1813

One comment

  1. […] sewing machine is repaired and working wonderfully.  I have been making progress on my second Minoru, an olive ripstop cotton version with flannel interlining.  Almost done!  I was totally […]

Leave a Reply

