The Apple and the Tree….

As a child, I have  vivid memories of my mom packing for our family vacations, or helping us get organized for summer camp.  Mom always had a very peculiar way of making packing lists – specifically, illustrating her packing lists with small drawings to represent each item…..

Doxie 0060
Mom’s packing list for a trip….

This “method” must have burrowed into my subconscious in some way (I do make packing lists but I DON’T DRAW them….)

In April, I got sucked into reading threads in an online community of sewers (seamstresses, sewists, stitichers, whatever your favorite word may be…) who focus on Sewing with a Plan (SWAP).  There is a contest every year, and quarterly threads with seasonal challenges.  The idea is to select a color palatte – say a neutral or two, and one other color, and to sew a coordinating seasonal wardrobe (maybe a pant, dress, skirt, three tops, and  a layering piece).

I had a great weekend last spring coming up with my own SWAP.  This was the result:

Doxie 0058

It wasn’t until I drew it all out out that I remembered those packing lists of my mom…..  Working on my autumn 2013 plan right now!

Leave a Reply

