Floor loom

During summer I have more down time than usual. So this is when I get ambitious ideas about learning new crafty skills.

In late April, I had the opportunity to see a small exhibit on American textiles at the Art Institute of Chicago. It was really cool to see how various handcrafts like quilting, weaving, and embroidery evolved during the industrial revolution.

I was struck by a couple of specific pieces, both over 200 years old. The first was this handspun, handwoven, and emboidered blanket from the 1700s:

20120711-195347.jpg

The second I don’t have a picture of, unfortunately. It was a lovely handwoven blanket from 1800, seamed up the middle because the hand loom widths were max 26 or 30 inches. I now know that it was a “classic” American coverlet with an overshot pattern.

At the time, I got to thinking….. Why am I waiting to buy a floor loom? I started to do research. A jack style loom folds up. Lots of folks love their baby wolf looms, which are jack style, fit in many cars, and won’t take up much space…. I emailed a couple of area guilds and voila! Within a couple of weeks I was the owner of a used 4 shaft baby wolf loom

20120711-200147.jpg

First, I messed around some on it with leftover sock yarn. Then I let my daughter S cut the sock yarn sampler off of the loom and have it for a baby blanket. I remembered that I had a cone of teal alpaca silk lace weight from WEBS in the stash. Below are a couple of pictures of a wide stole using a huck pattern that I adapted from handwoven. I still need to weave in the ends, but I’m pretty happy with my first “real” woven item from the floor loom!

20120711-200615.jpg

20120711-200628.jpg

2 comments

  1. Beautiful stole. I love that colorway. Congrats on getting into the thick of a new craft.

  2. Bob Rotenverg · · Reply

    What beautiful machine.

Leave a Reply

